RODE, P. - No.3 from 24 Caprices for Solo Violin transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

Rode, P.
Gerald Manning
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Solo Viola)
Instrumental parts
Not available


Transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

The French violinist and composer Jacques Pierre Joseph Rode was born in Bordeaux on Feb. 16, 1774, and died there on Nov. 25 1830. In Bordeaux he was a pupil of Fauvel, and in 1788 studied with Viotti in Paris. In 1790 he made his solo debut and then joined the orchestra of the Theatre Feydeau until 1794, when he toured Holland and Germany. His many appointments included a professorship at the new Conservatory, leader of the Opera orchestra, and violinist to Napoleon, and in 1803 he went with Boieldieu to St. Petersburg, where he became one of the Emperor�s private musicians. In 1813 when he was at Vienna he became associated with Beethoven, who composed the wonderful Sonata in G major, op.96 especially for him, and it received its first performance at a private concert with Rode and Archduke Rudolph. At the height of his career Rode was considered to be a very great artist. He composed thirteen concertos, 24 Caprices, twelve Etudes, and other pieces for the violin, also a method.

For the serious student of the violin the 24 Caprices placed alongside those of Kreutzer, Don�t, Wieniawski and Paganini remain essential building blocks for a well-rounded and secure technique and sound education on the violin. They are also a necessary adjunct and have great value when transcribed for the Viola. As that great violin pedagogue Leopold Auer says � There is no instrument whose absolute mastery at a later period presupposes such meticulous care and exactitude in the initial stages of study as does the violin.�

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.