Solstice, (version with flute)

Full details...
page one of Solstice, (version with flute)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Solstice is a short trio for flute, violin and piano and lasts around 5 minutes. A version is also available with clarinet instead of flute. In astronomy, the title refers to the longest and shortest days in the year, but here it is more a reflection on transition from one stage of life to another. The music therefore goes through a wide range of emotions associated with change.

The piece opens with dramatic tremolos on the piano and a statement of the main thematic idea (the basis of the whole work), first on flute, then violin, then both in canon. It is audibly apparent that the melodic phrases are modal in character. In fact, the whole work is based on the 8-note mode E, F, G#, A#, B, C, C#, D, E which is transposed at various stages.

An allegro follows, using the last notes of the opening section as a starting point, and a variant of the opening theme is soon heard in the piano. There follows a slower section which develops the opening phrase. This builds to a dramatic climax after which echoes of the allegro are heard over a crashing chord in the piano. Again, the slower music resumes and builds to a bigger climax, and again the allegro makes a further attempt over another crashing chord. This time, the short fragments are aloud to develop a little further, but then fade into a quiet resum� of the slower section.

A variation of the opening theme follows, characterised by chords in the piano. The work closes with the flute and violin becoming more and more fragmented, and the piano chords becoming more prominent and much more dense, providing a sinister close to the piece.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Solstice, (version with flute)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...