Cantata - Divine Word

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
15 minutes
Modern classical music
Choir + orchestra
Instrumental parts

This Cantata is scored for a baritone solo, mixed choir and string orchestra. The first of four movements was originally written in 1981, the other movements being added in 1998 with some revisions in 2009.

The first two movements are settings of texts by the composer, entitled Divine Soul and Divine Manifestations and asks questions about the nature of the soul and body of Spiritual Messengers (Manifestations), such as Christ, Mohammed, Moses, etc. The last two set texts by Bahá’u’lláh, who is the latest Messenger and founder of the Bahá’í Faith. These are entitled Divine Message and Divine Guidance. Divine Message, set for the baritone solo, suggests that mankind will never truly understand the nature of these Divine Manifestations, and Divine Guidance stresses that we should quench all error so that we might stand a chance of reaching God.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.