Home > Orchestra > And I saw a new heaven and a new earth (chamber orchestra) [1999]

And I saw a new heaven and a new earth (chamber orchestra) [1999]

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Revelation XXI, 1-5 (NIV)

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ?Now the dwelling of God is with men, and He will live with them. They will be His people and God Himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.?

He who was seated on the throne said, ?I am making everything new!? Then He said, ?Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.?

The title AND I SAW A NEW HEAVEN AND A NEW EARTH is from the opening verse of Revelation, chapter 21. It is part of a prophetic description of the final destiny of the world, and the conclusion of God?s purpose in its creation. The form of this orchestral work, and the dramatic thread through it, follow the Biblical account of pre-Christian history, the various stages in the growth of the Church, and the prophetic visions of the hereafter. More specifically it follows God?s dealings with His people, and their faith in or rejection of His ordinances. After the creation narrative there are three periods of roughly two thousand years ? the 10 patriarchs (from Adam to Noah), the birth of the Jewish nation (Abraham (c.2000 BC) to Christ), and the last two thousand years of Church history ? a main feature of each being conscience, law and faith. These periods (3 x 2 x one thousand years) also correspond in various ways to the first six days of the creation narrative. Revelation also describes a further period of one thousand years during which Christ will reign personally on earth, which corresponds to the seventh or the Sabbath day of creation. It is after this period that the world is ultimately perfected, and the eighth day and the new week begin.

I have used the idea of a sevenfold era, and the purpose, direction, and ultimate perfect destiny through it, as the structural basis for this piece. The idea of the ever increasing clarity of and disparity between a godly perfection, and evil, was a useful stimulus and aid in the unraveling of my main thematic material to its culmination in the finally harmonically and rhythmically stable hymn of section G (the ?Sabbath? millenium). Although various chronological events, symbolism, and the prevailing spiritual states (at any one time) are all used as starting points for musical inspiration, this piece is not supposed to represent a detailed historical account, and can in only the tiniest measure reflect or shadow the greater spiritual reality. My intention was to compose a dramatic work that has for its structural basis something absolutely solid, something with clear purpose and direction. My hope is that in some small way I have been able to reflect it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.