This piece was composed for the 2009 Annual Festival of New Organ Music competition to celebrate the centenary of the Royal Canadian College of Organists. It will open the AFNOM Saturday evening concert at St Marylebone Parish Church in London at 19.30 on 1st August 2009.

The Fanfare is based on the notes C-A-G-A-D-A. G is taken to represent the letter N, thus spelling ’CANADA’. The piece begins with a glistening tremolando chord in the manuals, underneath which the CANADA theme is heard in the pedals. The main body of the piece is in the manner of a French toccata, celebrating the Gallic aspects of Canadian culture. The semiquaver figuration in the right hand is derived from the CANADA theme, while the ’big tune’ in the left features 7th and added-6th chords. The lyrical melody in the darker central section is subtly derived from the CANADA theme, extending and developing it. When the ’big tune’ is recapitulated, the chords are played in both hands, creating a massive effect, while the feet are given the challenge of the semiquaver figuration. The virtuosity required seemed appropriate for a piece composed to celebrate an institution that promotes excellence in organ playing. After a short silence there is a coda that appears to go off in a new direction. It is, however, derived from material already presented, such as the tremolando of the opening bars and the 7th chords of the ’big tune’ (now ’broken’). The idea is to evoke the sense of Canada being a place of newness and opportunity that nevertheless has deep roots in the past and continues to foster such aspects of European culture as composing for and playing the organ.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Maxim. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.