MANNING, G. Wind Quintet No.1,Op.36 in E Flat Major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Horn

Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of MANNING, G. Wind Quintet No.1,Op.36 in E Flat Major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Horn

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

WIND QUINTET NO. 1 in E Flat Major, Op.36, for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in B flat, Bassoon and Horn. Gerald Manning

Favoured in the court of Joseph II in late 18th century Vienna a wood-wind ensemble consisting of two oboes, two clarinets, two horns and two bassoons was arguably the influence along with Haydn's chamber music writing which gave rise to the modern wind quintet. What established the genre however were Anton Reicha's 24 quintets begun in 1811, and the 9 quintets of Franz Danzi which are still in the repertoire of most Wind Quintets' of today. In the later half of the 19th century, the form diminished in stature but was revived by leading composers in the 20th century, and is valued for its versatility and variety of tone color, thus establishing the wind quintet as a standard chamber music ensemble.

Score ID
Gerald Manning
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
20 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for MANNING, G. Wind Quintet No.1,Op.36 in E Flat Major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Horn

You might also like...