The Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351, III. La Paix

Full details...
page one of The Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351, III. La Paix

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Music for the Royal Fireworks (HWV 351) was composed by George Frideric Handel (1685-1759) in 1749 for the fireworks in London's Green Park. It was to celebrate the end of the War of the Austrian Succession (1740-1748). The numbers of players were notified in the score of the overture as follows. -Trumpet I (3), Trumpet II (3), Trumpet III (3), -Timpani (3), -Horn I (3), Horn II (3), Horn III (3), -Oboe I (12), Oboe II (12), Oboe III (4), -Bassoon I (8), Bassoon II (4). Oboe I part is with Violin I, Oboe II with Violin II, Oboe III with Viola, Bassoon I with Violoncello and Contrabass, and Bassoon II with Contra Bassoon. It is said that George II of Great Britain's assignment was to use only wind instruments, however, Handel wanted to use strings. There are several different scores of the overture. It is supposed that the original scores were arranged by Handel himself. This score is based on Handel-Werkausgabe (1886) which was edited by Friedrich Chrysander (1826-1901). The Royal Fireworks consists of six movements; I. Ouverture, II. Bourree (without brass instruments), III. La Paix, IV. La Rejouissance, V. Menuet I (without brass instruments), VI. Menuet II. The brass parts in the score are written in C. The Horn parts are written in C and F, for players convenience.

Score ID
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for The Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351, III. La Paix

Reviews of The Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351, III. La Paix

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...