Planet Of Lost Souls from "Planet Suite" (Orchestra)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores
Ding Dong Merrily On High, Trio For Violin, Cello and Piano, Trio for Trumpet, Trombone and Piano, Trio For Tenor Saxophone, Trumpet and Piano, Trio For Oboe, Bassoon and Piano, Trio For 2 Bb Clarinets and Piano, Anglesey "Ynys Mon" from Mabinogion Suite" (Orchestra), # Y Twllwch Teg from "Mabinogion Suite" (Orchestra), Planet of Geysers (Studio Orchestra), We Wish You A Merry Christmas, She Moved Through the Fair (Orchestral Variations), Plains Indian, The ( Orchestra ), Planet of Amen's ( from Planet Suite, Studio Orchestra ), Vocalise - Etude (Oboe and Piano), At Armageddons' Edge "Futuristic Orchestral", Petite Suite for Clarinet No 2 Allegro, Petite Suite for Clarinet No 1 Prelude, Petite Suite for Clarinet No 6 Gigue, Petite Suite for Clarinet No 5 Allegretto, Petite Suite for Clarinet No 4 Allegro Moderato, Petite Suite for Clarinet No 3 Waltz, Journey of Generations ( from Space Suite, Studio Orchestra ), In Remembrance (Orchestra), In My Reverie (String Orchestra), In My Reverie (Oboe and String Orchestra), In My Reverie (Flute, Strings and Piano), In My Reverie (Bb Trumpet and String Orchestra), In My Reverie (Bb Clarinet and String Orchestra), Hi Mr Broque (Orchestral , Easy Beat ), Funk (Studio Orchestra, Pop Beat), Dying Planet The (Studio Orchestra), Dance Rhythmique (String Quintet), Distortions #1 and #2 (String Quintet), Canon Noel (Christmas Festival, Orchestra and Voices), Brubeck's Bounce (Swing , String Orchestra), Blight Of the Fumble Bee (Disco Beat, Studio Orchestra), A Christmas Dream (Orchestral), #5 Battle of the Giants from 'Mabinogion Suite' (Symphonic Orchestra), # 4 Enchantment from Mabinogion Suite (Symphonic Orchestra) and Holly and the Ivy The

In "Planet Of Lost Souls" from "Planet Suite" I have attempted to portray the quality of great despair and total hopelessness. The cry of this realisation comes very early in the piece, and, continuesto the long final chord, a cry of forlorness.

I have used some basic midi inputs for further effect :- more vibratto in clarinet part; and, in the crescendo diminuendo of the final chord.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Johnny Jones. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Johnny Jones has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.