Dill Pickles Rag for piano solo

Charles L. Johnson
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Jazz music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

Charles L. Johnson (December 3, 1875 - December 28, 1937) was born in Kansas City, Kansas and stayed in the Kansas City area his entire life. As a young child, he started to play piano on his neighbour\'s piano; by age nine, his parents bought him his own piano. Johnson took lessons for 3 years with a Mr. Kreiser, but quit suddenly when his teacher complained about his playing ragtime music. Johnson joined several guitar and mandolin clubs and organized several string orchestras that played in the Kansas City area. He also demonstrated pianos and music for J.W. Jenkins & Sons Music Company who would later publish a number of his compositions, including two of his earlier pieces, Doc Brown\'s Cake Walk: Kansas City Rag and Scandalous Thompson.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Klas Krantz. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Klas Krantz has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.