SHADOWS IN LIGHT for Viola & Harp

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts

SHADOWS IN LIGHT for viola and harp Op.122 (1999). Two friends of mine who emigrated and settled in California continued play my music, asking me from time to time to write a new piece for them. At the time I was reading the book by Vassily Kandinski on the idea of light and shadows in painting, and it influenced the title and character of the piece. Sergey Rakitchenkov and Olga Ortenberg premieredthe piece on 20th of April 2001 at Old First Church, San Francisco. At about the same time I was asked by the Pyramide ensemble for a piece for 6 players. I found the idea of recomposing my duo piece SHADOWS IN LIGHT instead of writing a new one intriguing. The music in the new version (Op.122a) is the same, but the instrumentation is quite different (flute, oboe, harp and string trio) and the texture is much more elaborated. Ensemble Pyramide premiered it on 26th January 2001 at Helferei Grossm?nster, Z?rich. (Available on MRCD026).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Dmitri N. Smirnov. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Dmitri N. Smirnov has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.