ALKAN - STARR; SUITE MACABRE, for symphony orchestra; 5 (of 5). La Saltarella

Charles-Valentin Alkan
Full details...
page one of ALKAN - STARR; SUITE MACABRE, for symphony orchestra; 5 (of 5). La Saltarella

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is an orchestration of Alkan’s La Saltarella, for full symphony orchestra. La Saltarella is virtuoso work, originally composed by Alkan circa 1868, first for cello and piano, and later revised by the composer for piano 4-hands. It is the latter version that served as the source for my two orchestrations of this piece (the first version for string orchestra with optional percussion; and the second, the present score, for full orchestra.) It is my conviction that the orchestra is the ideal medium for this exhuberant piece. This orchestration is intended as a dazzling showpiece for professional symphony orchestras. Due to vicissitudes described in detail in my prefatory essay, La Saltarella (in its original forms) has lain virtually unperformed for 14 decades. It is my hope that, in its new orchestral garb, modern day concert audiences can readily experience this exhilarating music in performances by both symphony and chamber orchestras.

The saltarello is a Neopolitan dance close related to the Sicilian tarantella. The tarantella got its name from the frenetic spasms produced from the bite of a tarantula. Traditionally it is a dance of death. The saltarello is also a frenetic dance in a minor key, characterized by fast-moving triplets and dotted rhythms. The principal difference between the two is the syncopated rhythm of the saltarello. Like jazz, the offbeats are emphasized over the main beats. Alkan’s colossal saltarello dispenses so much energy over so great a length of time, the imaginary dancers figuratively dance themselves to death in the whirlwind coda.

Orchestral parts are available on rental from Noteworthy Musical Editions. For more information about renting orchestral performance materials for this work, please visit Noteworthy Musical Editions’ website at

Here is a link to this score on the website of Noteworthy Musical Editions:

Browsers who might be interested to know more about the historical background of this remarkable work are directed to my essay that precedes the music. This essay is accessible with Scorch by using the player’s page arrows to locate pages 2 & 3.

Score ID
Charles-Valentin Alkan
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for ALKAN - STARR; SUITE MACABRE, for symphony orchestra; 5 (of 5). La Saltarella

Reviews of ALKAN - STARR; SUITE MACABRE, for symphony orchestra; 5 (of 5). La Saltarella

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...