Sonata for piano - four hands

Full details...
page one of Sonata for piano - four hands

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Sonata for piano four-hands was written in April 2008 and premiered in November same year at the International Festival of Contemporary Music in Pula. This 9-minute long work is composed in three movements of different expressions and characters though mutually connected by certain recognisible rhythmical elements. The short introductory movements is characterised by scherzoso mood combined with rhythmical patterns often based on idiom of jazz music.

The influence of jazz idiom is present in the middle movement as well, especially in the main theme itself which beside the rhythmical determination asks also for certain level of neccessary agogical freedom. The movement is characterized by neoclassical harmonical language and fluent melodical lines which are often interrupted by pauses. The pauses themselves become as well one of the important motivical elements of the whole Sonata.

The final movement is built as a constant confrontation between strong ostinato chords and sudden virtuoso passage-like flashes. The tonal center of the note C is constantly present throughout the movement. After a chordal culmination and last passage-flash, the movement is fadding out through continuous chordal repetitions while notable motives from the past two movements are heard at the very end.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Duet of Pianos
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Sonata for piano - four hands

Reviews of Sonata for piano - four hands

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...