BORODIN - STARR; BORODINIANA, suite for orchestra: 3 (of 6). Scherzo in A-flat, (strings and percussion)

Alexander Borodin
Full details...
page one of BORODIN - STARR; BORODINIANA, suite for orchestra: 3 (of 6). Scherzo in A-flat, (strings and percussion)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Scherzo in A-flat Major is the third movement in my suite, Borodiniana. This remarkable Scherzo was composed by Borodin for piano solo in 1885, just two years before his untimely death at the age of 53. Borodin was a doctor of chemistry, and his profession was that of chemist. Music was, for him, an avocation. He once stated: "I only compose when I am ill." A statue of him in Russia notes at the base: Alexander Borodin, chemist. Despite his nonchalant attitude toward musical composition, Borodin was anything but an amateur composer. The extraordinary personality, Russian character and technical brilliance of his music not only earned him a honored place in the "Mighty Five," it captured the imagination of music lovers around the world soon after Sergei Diaghilev brought Borodin's opera, Prince Igor, to Paris.

The Scherzo is rarely performed by pianists today, not because of any lack of musical interest, but rather primarily because of its fiendish technical difficulty – especially at a very fast tempo. Rachmanninov used to play it as an encore on his recitals; and I have heard Vladimir Ashkenazy play it (very well.) In my opinion, the technical difficulties of this piece on the piano derive mostly from internal evidence that the music was not conceived for piano, but rather for orchestra. Borodin might well have orchestrated it, had he lived longer. Alexander Glazounov arranged the Scherzo for full symphony orchestra – but I have always found this arrangement unconvincing. A full orchestra sounds to me way too heavy for this delicate, elfin music. In Glazounov's hands, the piece sounds to me over-inflated. For that reason, I have made this orchestration for string orchestra with percussion. In this form, it is a virtuoso display piece for string orchestra on a par with Borodin's original for piano solo. The element of virtuosity is the key to this music.

Score ID
Alexander Borodin
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
String orchestra
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of BORODIN - STARR; BORODINIANA, suite for orchestra: 3 (of 6). Scherzo in A-flat, (strings and percussion)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...