Prayer and Supplication

Full details...
page one of Prayer and Supplication

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A setting of (i) the Latin hymn Ave maris stella and (ii) Psalm 102, for SSAATTB a capella choir. Ideally they should be sung as a pair, but they are free-standing if desired. Prayer and Supplication was commissioned in 1979 by Adrian Pitts, conductor of Bristol University Chamber Choir, who gave the first performance there in the Wills Memorial Building in that year. The work is dedicated to the composer Elizabeth Poston who attended a performance at the Royston Arts Festival in May 1985. She was accompanied by the Master of the Queen's Music, Malcolm Williamson. The two religious pieces are seemingly disparate in style and content, but both borrow from monastic plainchant, and both end with a similar cadential Amen. In the second piece, this Amen is suitably extended to form a more substantial ending. The first piece is for SSAATTB chorus, and is a Latin setting of the hymn, Ave maris stella (Hail, star of the sea). Parallel fifths are prominent to create a feeling of antiquity, yet the fifths are frequently superimposed to maintain contemporary expression. The Amen ends peacefully on a bare D fifth, ambiguously major/minor. The second piece is an English setting of verses 1-12 of Psalm 102 (Hear my prayer, O Lord let my cry come to thee!), from the Revised Standard Version. The majority of this setting is monodic, in pseudo plainchant — each voice part entering in turn from the bass part upwards. The final verse of the psalm, the setting of the Gloria and the cadential Amen are harmonised at last, and revert to the style of the Ave Maris Stella. The piece concludes, this time in B flat major, with an exuberant cluster chord.

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Prayer and Supplication

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...