Three Dances from Lola Montez (I - The Spider Dance)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Spider Dance, arranged for concert orchestra (parts available on request) was written for a musical called 'Lola' based on the life of the notorious dancer Lola Montez. This was a moment in the show when she performed her most famous dance in the presence of King Ludwig of Bavaria - one of her many famous lovers. Basically a striptease, the dance was choreographed on the pretext that she was covered in spiders and the removal of her clothing was the quickest way to rid herself of them. Needless to say, back in the mid 19th century, it caused quite a scandal but made her world famous. King Ludwig was delighted and gave her the title of Countess of Landsfelt! The show 'Lola' written with lyricist Terry Read, who died in 2001, received its premiere in Guildford, Surrey in 2000. This piece forms part of an orchestral suite of three dances also available through Sibelius Music.

page one of Three Dances from Lola Montez (I - The Spider Dance)ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Perkins. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.