BORODIN - STARR; BORODINIANA, suite for orchestra; 5 (of 6). Serenata alla spagnola on the name Belaieff

The Serenata alla spagnola is the fifth movement of my orchestral suite, Borodiniana. Here is a remarkable miniature that Borodin composed in homage to his philanthropist music publisher and benefactor, Mitrofan Belyayev (usually mis-transliterated as Belaieff.) Originally, it was the third movement of a collaborative string quartet offered as a 50th birthday tribute to the music publisher by four of Belyavev’s composers (and friends.) The first movement was composed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov; the second by Anatoly Liadov; and the fourth by Alexander Glazunov. The germinal motive for the these in all four movements were the three notes B-A-F, which spells the publishers name (B-la-ef.) Borodin’s short third movement is one of the great – and most succinct – portraits of a noted personality in music. His noble theme consists of six notes: B-LA-F repeated twice, with the F up an octave the second time. The theme is repeated until the end. It becomes surrounded by swirls of exotic music of the kind of Russian works that Belyayev published, such as Rimsky’s Scheharazade, Borodin’s Second Symphony, and Liadov’s Enchanted Lake. In my orchestration, I have given the noble B-LA-F theme to each of the solo instruments in the orchestra, giving them an oppotunity to give a tip-of-the-hat to the publisher, who by his generosity and commitment to Russian music, so greatly enriched the standard musical repertiore. Browsers interested in the background of this piece should consult the historical essay that appears before the music. This essay is accessible with Scorch’s page arrows.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Starr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Mark Starr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.