Program Notes

THREE SOLO PIECES FOR TUBA (Ancient Perspectives) No. 1 ’Dzagidi’

The first two solo pieces for tuba (Ancient Perspectives) - Dzagidi and Vodzogbe, Op. 24, for tuba, were written in February 1992, at the Univerity of Ghana, Legon, upon a commission to me from Oren Marshall, an English tuba player who visited Ghana early 1992. Oren then had just been a prize winner at the Geneva International Competition. They were premiered on the 2nd of April 1992 at the British Council Hall, Accra. These poetic pieces explore the quartal singing mannerisms of the Anlo Ewe people of West Africa. As such they are characterized by persistent leaps predominantly quartal in nature. On a few occasions, the extreme tessitura of the instrument is touched. Both pieces are quasi-architectural in structure. The titles have been syllabically amalgamated for their onomatopoetic effects with no programatic implications. The third unaccompanied piece was written in September 2011 in the memory of the late Professor Nicholas Zinzendorf Nayo - an eminent Ghanaian scholar and composer.

Dr. E. Gyimah Labi Seattle, WA USA November 2009


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by E. Gyimah Labi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.