Program Notes

TWO SOLO PIECES FOR TUBA (Ancient Perspectives) NO. 2 "Vodzogbe" (Majestic Leaps) Op. 24, 1992

The 2 Solo Pieces for Tuba (Ancient Perspectives) - Dzagidi & Vodzogbe, Op. 24, for tuba were written in February 1992 at the University of Ghana upon a commission by Oren Marshall an English tuba player who visited Ghana early in 1992. Oren then had just been a prize winner at the Geneva International Competition. They were premiered on the 2nd of April 1992 at the British Council Hall, Accra. These poetic pieces explore the quartal singing mannerisms of the Anlo Ewe peoples of West Africa. As such they are characterized by persistent leaps predominantly quartal in nature. On a few occassions, the extreme tessituras of the instrument are touched. Both pieces are quasi-architectural in structure. The titles have been syllabically amalgamated for their onomatopoetic effects with no programatic implications. Vodzogbe therefore does not mean majestic leaps in the Ewe dialects. It just sounds majestic.

Dr. E. Gyimah Labi Seattle, WA. USA November 2009

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by E. Gyimah Labi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to E. Gyimah Labi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.