Concerto in D flat major for tuba and orchestra (piano version), Op. 37a - III. Allegretto cantabile

Full details...
page one of Concerto in D flat major for tuba and orchestra (piano version), Op. 37a - III. Allegretto cantabile

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Gregson, John Williams, Vaughan Williams and other tuba concertos are very virtuoso and explore the capacities of the soloist perhaps more than this one, but is there one sweeter and more singing ? This tuba concerto is modern-classical (i.e. neo-romantic)) and consists of three movements. The 1st movement is moderately fast and built upon one theme that is further developed. The 2nd movement is a slow Trauermarsch in the form of a passacaglia; magical moment (if I may say so myself) when the soloist comes in at 0'55". The final movement is moderately fast and in a shortened rondo form (ABA'CA). There is a cadenza in the final movement. In 2018 I made some small improvements (i.a. the creation of ossias for the trills in the 1st movement) and I cleaned up the lay out, to provide for tidy solo, piano, and orchestral parts. The performance is a digital performance using Sibelius 4 and Kontakt Gold of the original version of the composition. A score moving video with this performance is on my YouTube-channel.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Solo Bass in Bb + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto in D flat major for tuba and orchestra (piano version), Op. 37a - III. Allegretto cantabile

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...