Home > Quartet > Seis Danzas Cubanas

Seis Danzas Cubanas

Ignacio Cervantes
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Soprano Recorder)

Ignacio Cervantes (1847 - 1905) was a Cuban composer and pianist. He wrote forty-one Cuban dances for piano. I have taken six of these wide-ranging and flamboyant pieces and translated them to the much more limited sound of recorder quartet. I hope some of their character survives.

Two or three of these might make a nice concert item. Some of them could be extended effectively by making a full repeat.

Parts can be opened and printed via the links below the score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Chris May. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Chris May has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.