ISAAC ALBENIZ - STARR; Zortzico in E minor (arranged for symphony orchestra)

a Basque dance arranged for symphony orchestra by Mark Starr from Albeniz’s original composition for piano solo

Isaac Albeniz
Full details...
page one of ISAAC ALBENIZ - STARR; Zortzico in E minor (arranged for symphony orchestra)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A zortzico is a Basque round dance in quintuple meter, in which the five beats are always grouped 3 + 2. The dance is hypnotic and sensual in character. The repetitive pattern of a zortzico has dotted rhythms on beats 2 & 4.

Albeniz was Catalan, not Basque – but evidently he was fascinated by the seductive rhythm of the zortzico, since he composed two of them. The present one, in E minor, is an evocative and mesmerizing piece of about 5-6 minutes in duration.

In my opinion, the orchestra is an ideal medium for this luscious, exotic music. Only sustained instruments, such as strings and winds, can execute the numerous extended crescendos and diminuendos on long tones that fill the central section. The timbres of contrasting orchestra sections adds color and variety to the work. The strings impart a mysterious tone to this beguiling dance.

Sets of orchestral parts are available on rental exclusively from Noteworthy Musical Editions. For more information about renting orchestral parts for this work for public concerts and/or commercial recordings, please visit Noteworthy’s website at

Here is a link to this score on the website of Noteworthy Musical Editions:

I am always interested to read comments of those who examine my scores or listen to my orchestrations and compositions. You can contact me at

Score ID
Isaac Albeniz
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for ISAAC ALBENIZ - STARR; Zortzico in E minor (arranged for symphony orchestra)

Reviews of ISAAC ALBENIZ - STARR; Zortzico in E minor (arranged for symphony orchestra)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...