MOZART - STARR; Variations concertantes, KV 501, for solo woodwind quartet and orchestra (arranged by Mark Starr from Mozart’s Andante for piano 4-hands)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Classical music
Orchestra + solo (Woodwind)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Here is an orchestration of Mozart’s Andante, KV 501, originally for piano 4-hands. I have arranged Mozart’s work for solo woodwind quartet - consisting of flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon – and orchestra (strings and 2 horns.)

Thus, this is a 9-minute theme and variations in the form of a sinfonia concertante.

In its new orchestral garb, this music demands great virtuosity on the parts of all four woodwind soloists. I have heard it said by woodwind players that they would kill for more wind concerti by Mozart. Well, here is the equivalent of a flute concerto movement, an oboe concerto movement, a clarinet concerto movement and a bassoon concerto movement – all rolled into one. Also, it is one of the most remarkable, catchy and intricate set of variations that Mozart ever composed. I suspect wind players will relish playing this new addition to the solo/orchestral repertoire.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Starr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Mark Starr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.