Migrating Souls

Full details...
page one of Migrating Souls

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was inspired by phase compositions by Steve Reich.

It begins with just the cello playing on the off beats throughout. This is obvious when looking at the score but in a concert setting the aim is to have the audience believe that it is playing on the beat.

Then the viola enters playing a rhythmic phrase lasting for 2 1/2 bars. The difficulty begins when the violin enters. The violin is playing a rhythmic phrase one semiquaver shorter than the viola. This makes the composition constantly change.

When the bass enters it opens up more possibilities. By now the listener believes that the cello is playing on the beat and has some idea of where beat one of the bar is… well this all changes now. The bass begins on beat one (for the performers sake I found it easier to read by inserting one bar of 2/4 time (bar 24) so when the bass come in that’s officially beat one) and continues to play on the beat throughout and the realization that the cello was always playing off the beat kicks in. The bass part, to me, really grounds this piece. It plays a four bar phrase creating another element of constant change when juxtaposed with the viola and violin. At bar 41 flute, bassoon, and clarinet enter with a sparse, soothing yet haunting sound.

All instruments continue in this out of phase setting, constantly evolving, until one by one the strings stop their journey, leaving the wind instruments to end this piece with a quasi Amen closure.

  • Please note that the tempo should be 185. Not 85 as printed in the score.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Migrating Souls

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...