The Need (1. Exposition)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Quartet (Solo Contrabass)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Written for a film called "The Need"

An excerpt of the film is here… Music is by me…

Is this story true or false? You decide! Frustrated by the lack of true justice shown to hardened habitual criminals, our Scottish narrator takes us for a video-tour of his growing "need" for vigilante retribution. By accident, rather than design, our Narrator eliminates a local spiv and drug dealer and in so doing discovers sensations and desires that eventually overcome his sense of decency and reality. Desire and want sound similar to to need, but only when you have killed do you understand the addiction that is "The Need"!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tony Matthews. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Tony Matthews has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.