SCHUBERT - STARR; Fantasy in C Major, D. 934; for violin solo and string orchestra (an orchestration by Mark Starr of Schubert’s work for violin and piano) Part 3 of 3

The finale of Schubert’s Fantasy in C Major is in three sections. It begins with an exalted theme that recalls Beethoven (who had died less than one year earlier.) In addition to heralding this celebratory theme, the solo violin plays decorative material of great virtuosity. The middle section is a developmental reprise of the earlier Andantino – essentially a fifth variation to the lied ’Sei mir gegrüsst!’ This final variation dissipates into thin air. The silence is broken by a furious coda that makes enormous technical demands on both the soloist and the orchestra.

I hope browsers of this score (and listeners to the MIDI performance) will express their opinions of Schubert’s Fantasy in C Major, D. 934, and my orchestral arrangement of it - either in an online review or in an email to me. I am always interested in reading the observations of those who examine and listen to my compositions and orchestrations. To send me an email, just click on the button marked EMAIL THE PUBLISHER.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Starr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Mark Starr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.