Suite N°2 for Violins duet by J.-S. BACH

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Duet (Solo Violin)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The three pieces mixed together in this �imaginary� Suite for 2 violins are actually adapted from Bach�s famous Keyboard music: �" Courante belongs to �French Suite N° II/2� (original score in C minor) �" Polonaise belongs to �French Suite N° VI/5� (original score in E Major); �" Menuet belongs to �French Suite N° III/4� .

The whole pieces have been arranged for 2 Violins from moderate to semi-professionnal grade. However, the music is entirely playable in 1st (violin 2) 1st and 3rd positions (violin 1). The total amount of music in ist duration is about 5 mn but can be reduced without repeats (ad lib.).

page one of Suite N°2  for Violins duet by J.-S. BACHASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by François Piguet. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.