Mendelssohn ’A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ Suite arranged for Organ

Mendelssohn, Felix
Year of composition
Harold Jackson
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available

Mendelssohn was born February 3, 1809 in Hamburg, Germany. He began, like Mozart, as a child prodigy. Encouraged by his family and teachers, the precocious Felix began writing music when he was 9 years old. His public debut as a pianist was in 1818. At the age of 17, he astonished the world with a true masterpiece, his Overture to William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream (see my organ transcription). In 1842, he added the remaining movements of the incidental music, which are here arranged for the organ. This transcription also includes W. T. Best’s own transcription of the ’Wedding March’.

page one of Mendelssohn ’A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ Suite arranged for OrganASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Harold Jackson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.