Triptych for Strings

Full details...
page one of Triptych for Strings

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

As its title suggests, �Triptych� is in three movements. The first is a bold �Intrada� which contains fanfare-like ideas as well as more lyrical passages. The central movement is titled �Aria� and is the emotional heart of the work. Like arias of the Baroque period, it is cast in ternary form, with ornamentation of the melody upon its return. The rather austere central section of the �Aria� features a canon set against an ostinato figure. The movement ends with shimmering tremolando in the second violin and viola parts. The final movement is a fugue. Not a �dry� or �academic� fugue, but a devilish romp based on a compound-time subject that almost uses every note of the chromatic scale. If you thought fugues cannot be fun, think again! These movements are arranged from my Suite for Organ.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Triptych for Strings

Reviews of Triptych for Strings

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...