Sinfonia a tre

Full details...
page one of Sinfonia a tre

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This work has been composed for my highest grade students in harmony / counterpoint. The purpose was to build a piece of music for keyboard in the style of J.-S. Bach's 3 Parts Inventions (BWV 788 to 801). The idea was to give the fisrt bar only (including the whole material of the piece, this is to say the Subject and Bass line) to the students, then ask them to finish the work ! The challenge was to compose as close as possible to Bach's keyboard music. The piece I composed for this purpose �" named Sinfonia a tre �" consists in a 2 parts Invention in Fugato style: First Part (from bar 1 to 12) divided as follows: Bar 1 to 8 (letter A): from Tonic to Relative; Bar 8 to 12 (letter B): from Relative to Dominant; Second Part (12 to the end): Bar 12 to 16: from Dominant to sub-Dominant (actually bar 17, letter C); Bar 17 to the end: from sub-Dominant to the end. The fugato theme has been rythmically modified all along the piece, accompanied with 2 countersubjects (the first at bar 2, middle voice; the second from bar 8, middle voice to 9, bass). The stretto, from bar 12 (letter B) to the end is using various canonic structures (i.e. 3 parts in canon from bar 12 to 13). I give the first bars (exercice) as an extracted part.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Solo instrument (Piano)
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sinfonia a tre

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...