FAURE - STARR; Valse-Caprice in D-flat Major, Opus 38, for flute and piano (an arrangement by Mark Starr of Gabriel Faure's grande valse de concert no. 2, originally for piano solo)

Gabriel Faure
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Flute)
Instrumental parts

Here is a grand waltz from the Belle Epoque in Paris just before the turn of the 19th century. I have arranged Faure's sweeping valse de concert no. 2, originally for piano, as a bravura showpiece for flute and piano. The piece is in the tradition of works like the popular Valse de Concert for flute and piano by Benjamin Godard (Faure's contemporary) – except Faure uses a vastly more sophisticated harmonic palette and melodic imagination than Godard. Perhaps the most memorable section of this arrangement for flute and piano is the second theme - which exploits the rich low register of the flute in a manner that will challenge the flutist's breath control to the maximum. This transcription requires a flutist with the full tone and personality of a major soloist.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Starr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mark Starr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.