Essay For Orchestra

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

While the composer is not about to claim that Samuel Barber could have written this short work, the title might suggest otherwise. (Barber wrote three works with this title.) But in matters of form Barber�s ability to condense and telescope, his development of ideas of a highly concentrated emotional character�"these are mirrored here to some extent. Two themes�"the first short, high, and imperative, the other expansive and tender�"are presented and alternated after a short introduction. The bridging material between the two themes is designed for a smooth transition as one of the two themes replaces the other then back again. Throughout the scoring is light. The expansive tender theme finally gets its full harmonic due from the full orchestra after it is modulated to D flat. The work ends with a cadential treatment of the first theme.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Robert McKee. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Robert McKee has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.