Ding Dong Bells

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

The main idea for this piece is originally to write a fugue for the advanced musicianship module which I am now studying in. Thus, I came up with the piece, Ding Dong Bells. The piece basically in 6/8 and 3/4 and the tempo is from Moderato-Vivace-Moderato.In between, there is constant changing of keys,such as original key is in F sharp major,then turns to its relative minor, d sharp minor. The music is basically in 3 part harmony except the question and answer part between upper and lower voices and trying to imitate a fugue by starting from solo soprano voice to duet between the soprano and alto voices.

This piano solo piece is dedicated to 4 excellent young pianists which I knew.

The work was first premiered in 2010 by Mr Chiam Zhi Bin himself and this work was also premiered in Taiwan recently and is also being used to as a competition piece by one of the competitors for a piano competition in Taiwan this year (2015).

Hopefully this piece is enjoyable to all.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by ChunYuan Xiao. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com ChunYuan Xiao has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.