Symphony No. 8

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
32 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

A large scale one-movement work, the symphony begins in a dark brooding manner that brings to mind Shostakovich in his 6th Symphony. The long opening section with its retinue of related themes is relentless in driving home a feeling of melancholy and despair. The brilliant fanfare on three trumpets that ends the section and heralds the next brings only partial relief. While the themes of the new section are lighter and less foreboding, there are close connections between the thematic material of both sections that leaves one in little doubt that the respite is only momentary. Again the fanfare is heard with the music plunging back into dark foreboding. If the elements of sonata form were relevant, this next section might be called the development with the first two being the 1st and 2nd Subjects respectively. At any rate there is a struggle between the lighter and darker aspects of the music as typified in the first two sections. But the tonalities once again pull the dark brooding elements in with the first section returning like a soulful recapitulation. A long coda for strings alone ensues, which acts very much like a development of the main theme heard at the beginning of the symphony. At the very end that theme is repeated on solo flute, then solo oboe, while a solo trumpet descends in mournful tones over quiet strings.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Robert McKee. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Robert McKee has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.