Home > Solo instrument + piano > O Mio Babbino Caro for Bb Clarinet & Piano

O Mio Babbino Caro for Bb Clarinet & Piano

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Clarinet in Bb)
Instrumental parts

O Mio Babbino Caro arranged for Bb Clarinet & Piano.

Parts on request:keithterrett@gmail.com

’’O mio babbino caro" ("Oh My Dear Papa") is a soprano aria from the opera Gianni Schicchi (1918), by Giacomo Puccini, to a libretto by Giovacchino Forzano. It is sung by Lauretta after tensions between Schicchi and his prospective in-laws have reached a breaking point that threatens to separate her from Rinuccio, the boy she loves. It provides a contrasting interlude expressing lyrical simplicity and single-hearted love in the atmosphere of hypocrisy, jealousy, double-dealing and feuding in medieval Florence of Puccini’s only comedy, and it provides the only set-piece in the through-composed opera.

Florence Easton as Lauretta at the world premiere of Gianni Schicchi, 14 December 1918.The aria was first performed by the popular Victorian English soprano Florence Easton (premiere 14 December 1918). It has been sung subsequently by many sopranos such as Frances Alda, Victoria de los �ngeles, Kathleen Battle, Montserrat Caballé, Maria Callas, Renée Fleming, Angela Gheorghiu, Dame Joan Hammond (who won a Gold Record in 1969 for 1 million sold copies of this aria),[1] Dame Malvina Major, Carmen Monarcha, Anna Netrebko, Leontyne Price, Patricia Racette, Dame Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, and Renata Tebaldi.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Keith Terrett. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.