Scena drammatica

Giuramento solenne, Aria cantabile, e Cabaletta

Year of composition
Euripides, tr. Robert Potter (1721–1804)
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

Based on a scene in the Euripides play «Ion», as translated by Robert Potter. Creüsa, princess of Athens, was raped by Apollo as a young teenager. Out of shame, she gave birth to her son in secret and left him to die in the cave where the act took place. Subsequently unable to conceive with her husband, and fearing for the future of her line, she encounters the young man Ion and discovers that he is the son she had long thought dead.

In the present scene, a sketch for a future opera, Creüsa relives the repressed emotions connected with the rape in order to process them one last time before laying them to rest, running the gamut from scorn for Apollo, to resentment, to fear, to relief and hope for the future of Athens and her line.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Robert Hallock. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Robert Hallock has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.