Prince Igor Act III; Polovtsian March for Brass Band

for Brass Band

A. Borodin
Full details...
page one of Prince Igor Act III; Polovtsian March for Brass Band

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Unencumbered by formal education in composition, Borodin was invited to join the Mighty Hand, a set of five composers who set about to throw off the shackles of Western European tradition, thereby founding a uniquely Russian school of composition. This march contains many stylized elements of that new school: Orientalism, tonal mutability, running parallel thirds, the Russian submedient, and modular rotation in sequences of thirds ( Also noteworthy in the orchestration is the use of offbeats and harmony notes in the lowest octaves; the major 2nds in the opening bars connote the approaching menace of Prince Igor’s army toward the Polovtsian region, and the ascending parallel thirds in the climax to the first strain may be the earliest example of barbarism in music. Borodin’s own harmony is superb, and is particularly well displayed in the brass band, both in delicate nuance, and in raw power. This arrangement humbly mirrors the brilliant orchestration completed posthumously by Rimsky-Korsakov and Glazunov, which incidentally, is augmented with a brass band. The original metronome marking of 120 may be inauthentic, if not breathtaking, though many fine recordings (Reiner) approach it handily. A mark of 100 has an nice inexorable quality (Fennell) and would absolutely lend itself to a fine performance. The mark of 110 is offered as compromise.

Score ID
A. Borodin
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Brass band
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Prince Igor Act III; Polovtsian March for Brass Band

Reviews of Prince Igor Act III; Polovtsian March for Brass Band

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...