Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts

The title represents the piece in every way possible. The pounding Piano part, which introduces the piece and continues throughout in this manner, combined with the screeching Piccolo and E flat Clarinet parts create an intense sound, which seems to be almost out of control at times. The piece is in three definitive sections: the first in 4/4, the second in 7/8, and the third in 4/4. The repeated patterns of the Piano part, which are the main characteristics of the piece, define these changes. In the first section all instruments are playing in the same time �" 4/4. However, in the second section the combination of the repeated Piano patterns which are in 7/8, and the passages of the Piccolo and E flat Clarinet which are in 4/4, causes an obvious cross-rhythm. This cross-rhythm is what makes the piece sound slightly out of control as the Piano sounds completely isolated form the rest of the ensemble at this point. Following this, there is a short pause before returning to the original ideas, which were heard at the beginning of the piece. These characteristics, with the combination of the unbelievably shrill Piccolo and E flat Clarinet sounds, make this piece �" Hyperactive.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Dan Phelps. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Dan Phelps has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.