Gratias Agimus (brass quintet)

B minor Mass

J S Bach
Full details...
page one of Gratias Agimus (brass quintet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The chorus ’Gratias Agimus’ from Bach’s great B Minor Mass is a strict fugue in stretto. There are two subjects: the first has been used innumerable times. Here it is given first by the Tuba in bars 1-3, followed immediately by successive overlapping entries in the Horn, Trumpet 2 and Trumpet 1. The Trombone announces the second subject in bar 5, again followed by the Horn and Trumpets. With slight variation this magnificent chorus is repeated at the end of the Mass to the words ’Dona Nobis Pacem’. Chhose symphonic or brass band parts.

In this arrangement the first Trumpet part may be played on the Bb trumpet, changing to Bb Piccolo towards the end, or alternatively on Eb Trumpet throughout. Parts are provided for both eventualities. To see my other scores available on this site, go to:

Score ID
J S Bach
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Brass quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Gratias Agimus (brass quintet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...