My Lord's Lament

Full details...
page one of My Lord's Lament

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is number 2 in 'Diary Of A Composer', twenty-nine pieces for string orchestra written in strictly consecutive order as a personal running musical documentation of the two-year period March 1999 - March 2001 (click my home page link above for the complete Diary, plus more), after a decade of decomposition. Note that the seasons are Southern Hemispherical, where it is Winter in June and Summer in December.

Written concurrently with the music on a time-travelling "working holiday" back a couple of centuries, the following three verses may be sung to the tune of the top part.

1. Covers of field and blankets of meadow,/ Ribbons of stream and diamonds of dew;/ Curtains of trees have I: more than just these have I;/ Yet I have naught, for I have not you./

2. Cold are my fields and chill are my meadows,/ Frozen my streams and frosty the dew;/ Gallows of trees have I: nothing but these have I;/ Would I have more, had I not found you?/

3. Yet, flowers bloom in beauty unbidden./ Birds give me tune though I give no cue./ Treasure of trees have I: nectar of bees have I;/ All these I have, regardless of you!/

Score ID
Year of composition
Ralph Schneider
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of My Lord's Lament

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...