Clarinet 2/3 part from Water Music (Wassermusik)(Horn Suite in F): 3.Allegro

George Frideric Handel
3 minutes
Classical music

Handel’s Water Music Suite, commonly known as the Horn suite (in F) was initially composed for a water party for the King in 1715.It was composed for strings, oboes and bassoons, and horns. It is believed that it was the first time that horns had been used in England in an orchestral setting.There are 11 movements. For a further water party in 1717 Handel included trumpets and adapted 2 of the movements (numbers 10 Hornpipe and 11 Allegro) into the key of D. He added 3 more movements including 12 Trumpet Minuet. He wrote a further suite in G (flute suite) nos15-19 for flutes and strings and it is likely that this music would have been played whilst the royal party ate supper at Chelsea.(not on the river)

For this concert band arrangement I have changed the key from F to Eb making it easier to play for most of the band, but it does need 2 decent horn players as the parts are quite exposed at the start of the movement.

This movement could be played seque after my shortened arrangement of the 1.overture.(to be added shortly)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Ray Thompson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.