Flute part from Symphony No.2 - Second Movement. Op 7

Jonathan Mitchell
Classical music

The movement opens with a mysterious anthem which passes into the main theme principalled by the woodwind. Strings provide the counterbalance. The 'A' theme is then repeated in variation form, with strong syncopation with cello and brass lead for each of the variations. The 'B' section opens with an optimistic section leading into a 'dolce' secondary theme. This theme is underpinned by a strong harp harmony and allows clarinet and horn also to carry the melody. This passes into a trumpet-led climax before repeating. The remainder is in A'B' format with abbreviated version of the A and B sections intertwined. The movement ends simply as the trumpet climax is played a final time.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Jonathan Mitchell. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Jonathan Mitchell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.