Violin II part from Grosses Adagio & Rondo for Guitar and String Quartet

Adam Darr
13 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

To my knowledge this is the first publication of Grosse Adagio & Rondo for Guitar and Strings. The original manuscript lies in the Stadtbibliotek Augsburg. The original title is "Grosses Adagio & Rondo fuer die Guitarre Mit Begleitung einer Bass-Guitarre oder des Streich-Quartetts" (Grand Adagio & Rondo for guitar with the accompaniment of a Bass-guitar or a string Quartet. I will include the bass-guitar part at a latter date. This is an outstanding example of this genus, which Mauro Giuliani popularized in the early 19th century. The guitar part is virtuosic and showy, yet also quite effective. Typical of Darr�s style, it is full of expressive devices with several ad libitum sections, rubatos and extreme juxtaposing of dynamics. There is a tremendous amount of melodic and technical variety in the introductory Adagio. The Rondo and Trio follows the, then popular, form faithfully and requires quite a bit of technical expertise. The string parts are very well crafted and usually in a supporting role. It is apparent that Darr knew how to orchestrate and did it well. Further evidence can be found in his two-act operetta Robinsonade.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joseph R. Costello. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.