violin II part from Bach - "Air sul G" for solo bassoon and string orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach
4 minutes
Classical music

At the end of the 19th century the German violinist August Wilhelmi (1845-1908) decided to adapt J.S. Bach`s Aria from the �Suite for Orchestra in D-major� BWV 1068 for violin and piano. This second movement of Bach`s third orchestral suite is written originally for solo-violin and string orchestra.

Wilhelmi transposed the entire solo part, which is a gem of lyric music, into C, so it fits comfortably on the G-string, the lowest string of the violin with a particularly dark and romantic timbre. The harmonic parts he wrote for piano. Though this music was later transcribed for many other instruments, it did not lose its name �Air on the G-String�.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Christo Pavlov. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Christo Pavlov has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.