1st Clarinet part from Eine kleine Nachtmusik arr for Clarinet Quartet

page one of the 1st Clarinet part from Eine kleine Nachtmusik arr for Clarinet Quartet
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

My arrangement of the 1st Mvt of Eine kleine Nachtmusik for Clarinet Quartet was made in Aug 2001 followed by the Saxophone Quartet version in Aug 2003. Here now is the full work. The movements could be played individually or as a whole. Whichever way you approach it, the arrangement should give all your players plenty to do in the study of this delightful Mozart piece. A few points: (a) I have 'written out' Mozart's ornaments but their performance is a matter of choice. (b) at 38 in the 2nd Mvt see notes in 2/3 Cl re performance. (c) An optional cut could be made in the 2nd Mvt from 2 pulses before 'B' to two pulses before 'C'. (d) See the Score about performance directions in Mvt 3 - Menuetto. (e) Repeats in all Mvts are a matter of choice except perhaps in the Menuetto. (f) I have reworked the 1st Mvt taking into account that most groups now use a Bass Clarinet in lieu of 4th Bb Clarinet. Where double Bass Clarinet notes are shown, the lower is preferred if avaialble.

W A Mozart
21 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for 1st Clarinet part from Eine kleine Nachtmusik arr for Clarinet Quartet