Percussion 1 part from Great Gate of Kiev - from Pictures at an Exhibition - arranged for Wind Band

6 minutes
Classical music

There are several arrangements of this already on, but here's mine, based on the Ravel orchestration, and as performed at a recent concert of the wind band I play with (see

The Great Gate of Kiev is the last movement of Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition suite, written in commemoration of his friend, artist and architect Viktor Hartmann. In 1866 the Tsar Alexander II narrowly escaped an assassination attempt in the city of Kiev. A competition was organized for the design of a great gate to commemorate the event, and Hartmann�s design was selected as the winner. The Gate was never built, but a posthumous exhibition of Hartmann�s works took place at the Academy of Fine Arts in St Petersburg in 1874, and Pictures at an Exhibition, composed a few months later, represents a musical tour around the collection.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Adlington. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Adlington has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.