Violin 1 part from Scarlatti ’The Cat’ Sonata K30 for String Quartet

D Scarlatti
5 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

K30, ’The Cat Fugue’, is one of the most famous of the 500 or so sonatas that Domenico Scarlatti wrote for harpsichord. He was apparently inspired by his cat walking down the keyboard! The unusual intervals thus generated are typical of the way that Scarlatti pushed the musical boundaries of the time.

This wonderful sonata is now available for String Quartet in a new edition, arranged by David McKeown. Being a fugue, there is plenty of interest in all four parts. This is not an easy piece to perform; players will need several years experience to tackle it, but it will make a unique and exciting addition to any concert program, amateur or professional.

Scarlatti often conceived of his sonatas in pairs, slow and fast, and the perfect partner for this one is K208, also available for String Quartet on my pages.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David McKeown. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David McKeown has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.