1st Baritone part from Widor 6th Organ Symphony - Allegro

C M Widor
8 minutes
Classical music

Whilst not as well known as the famous Toccata (final movement of the 5th Symphony), this, the first movement of the 6th Symphony for organ, is nonetheless very well known and deservedly so.

Written between 1887 and 1894, the 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th symphonies were produced to explore and exploit the full scope of sonorities of which Cavaill�-Coll’s organ at St-Sulpice is capable.

The Allegro from the 6th Symphony is an excellent demonstration piece for the Cavaill�-Coll organ at full throttle, and no less so for an accomplished brass band.

Individual parts are available on this site as usual but, if you have a copy of the Sibelius software, provided you email me proof of purchase of the score, I will happily supply the .sib files of the parts for free.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Stuart Blake. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Stuart Blake has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.