Tuba part from Concerto for Brass Quintet and Orchestra

Derek Bourgeois
15 minutes

This piece was originally written for Brass Quintet in 1972, and was tried out by the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. Alas it proved too difficult and tiring even for them, so the composer recast it as a Concerto for Brass Quintet and Brass Band. In 1999 John Wallace approached the composer to see if he would rewrite it for orchestra as the Wallace Collection had a series of concerts in Odessa including one with orchestra. The newly transcribed work was first performed there in 2000. It is in three movements which play without a break, and it exploits all sorts of brass techniques which are rarely seen.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Derek Bourgeois. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Derek Bourgeois has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.