Home > Quartet > Two Brahms Pieces for Tuba Quartet > Tenor Tuba 1 (Euph. 1, Baritone 1) part

Tenor Tuba 1 (Euph. 1, Baritone 1) part from Two Brahms Pieces for Tuba Quartet

Johannes Brahms
3 minutes
Classical music

Here are two short bits of Brahms arranged for tuba-euphonium quartet. The first is a vocal canon. It has no dynamics, as all the parts are equal. Follow the contour of the lines, and when you have one of the two main motifs, bring it out. The first motif can be found in tenor tuba 1, bars 1-4. The second can be found in the same voice from the end of bar 8 to the start of bar 11. Each voice comes in just a semitone below the previous entrance. It is extremely chromatic, but can be lovely if played lyrically and sensitively. The second work is the well-known choral piece In Stiller Nacht. It makes a nice foil for the more disturbed motion of the first work.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by W. Adams. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com W. Adams has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.