Contrabass Clarinet part from Capriol Suite arr. for Clarinet Choir

Peter Warlock (1894-1930) arr. Rodney Parker
10 minutes
Classical music

This new addition to The Dorset Wind Music Clarinet Ensemble series provides ensembles of all standards the opportunity to rehearse and perform some exciting and interesting music. Based on a sequence of old French dances, Peter Warlock's 'Capriol Suite' may be played as separate movements or as a complete suite which takes around 10 minutes including the breaks between the various dances. Combinations of movements can be used for interesting programming. 'Basse Dance', 'Pavane' and 'Mattachins' could make a useful overture to a concert. Alernatively, 'Pieds-en-l'air' and 'Bransles' could make a good finale. Tempi are at the discretion of the performers. For example, I have heard 'Bransles' taken at a rapid one beat to bar (measure) - exciting stuff. A little imagination in its usage could make the 'Capriol Suite' a mainstay of your repertoire. It is reasonably priced and please see the 'Associated Scores' box below for other Dorset Wind Music titles in this series.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Cathy Parker. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Cathy Parker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.